A given username can only have one session active at a given time. However the session handoff is supported by all IBKR trading platforms. If you have a trading session running on a specific device (e.g. your Desktop computer) and you start another trading session on a different device (e.g. your smartphone), you will be prompted, upon login, to terminate the previous session or cancel the current login attempt. If you elect to terminate the previous session, your Desktop platform will disconnect, allowing you to complete the login on your mobile device. Moreover, you can as well transfer your account authentication over to the IBKR Mobile app, which saves you the effort of opening and logging in to IBKR Mobile
To transfer login authentication from the TWS to the IBKR Mobile:
- While logged into TWS, tap the IBKR icon on your mobile device.
- In IBKR Mobile, at the message stating that another session exists, tap "OK".
- In TWS, click "Cancel" in the "Existing Session Detected" dialog.
- You can now trade via IBKR Mobile.
If you wish to have two sessions logged in at the same time, you will need to create a second username with it's own set of market data subscriptions. For more information on how to create a second username, please see: Can I create a second username for my account?