If you want to close all of your positions and hold only cash, you can quickly and easily create orders to close all of your positions. In TWS, click the Trade menu option and put your cursor on "Close All Positions". You can elect to close a portion of your positions, but if you would like to convert your whole portfolio to cash, choose 100%. Use the "Close Position" window to configure your orders and click OK once you are ready. The orders will automatically transmit, so check your setup before you click OK.
Please note that by clicking OK you are agreeing to allow the system to automatically submit orders to close the positions you defined by your filters.
Orders created by this feature are handled in the same manner as all orders placed on IB’s systems. By using the Close All Positions feature, you (the client) acknowledge that you are aware of the following limitations:
- It will create a closing order for each position (or selected position) and submit it once.
- This is a best-efforts system; there is no guarantee that orders will be transmitted or filled.
- The system will not create/submit LIMIT orders if there is no market data.
- Orders that cause the account to violate its margin requirements will be rejected, and rejected orders will not be re-sent.
- There is no guarantee that orders will be submitted in any specific sequence. For example, hedged positions are not recognized and one portion of the hedge will not be sent before the other.
- The feature will not generate combination trades.
- If only some positions in the account can be closed, the risk concentration of the account may increase, making the customer subject to an exposure fee.